Subregions are areas consisting of a number of municipalities, divided on the basis of municipal cooperation and work mobility. Every municipality in Finland belongs to a subregion, and all municipalities within the same subregion must belong to the same region. The region of Southwest Finland is divided into five subregions.


Loimaa subregion

Aura, Koski Tl, Loimaa, Marttila, Oripää and Pöytyä belong to Loimaa subregion. Agricultural and food industry is supported by metal industry, a high rate of entrepreneurial activity and an advanced information technological service network.


Salo subregion

Salo and Somero belong to Salo subregion. The region is the technologically most advanced in Southwest Finland. The productive activity is dominated by information technology, and the front runner is the Nokia headquarters in Salo.


Turunmaa subregion

The Kimito Island and The town of Pargas belong to Turunmaa subregion. The strength of the region is its unique archipelago with many travelling possibilities. In the archipelago it is striven to improve employment prospects by remote working and environmental technology.


Turku subregion

Kaarina, Lieto, Masku, Mynämäki, Naantali, Nousiainen, Paimio, Raisio, Rusko, Sauvo and Turku belong to Turku subregion. The capital of Southwest Finland, Turku, is also in the region. Turku is known as the cradle of civilization and history, a high-class cultural and educational city, and as a top class centre of biotechnological development and production. Moreover there are diverse food, shipyard, pharmaceutical, metal and information technology industries in Turku and its environment.


Vakka-Suomi subregion

Kustavi, Laitila, Pyhäranta, Taivassalo, Uusikaupunki and Vehmaa belong to Vakka-Suomi subregion. The region is known for the only automobile factory in Finland. There is a significant metal industry and a strong urge to invest in new industrial production in the region.